5 politicians who have overcome disabilities to win at 2022 general elections

Kenyans are celebrating the success of persons living with disabilities

• Most of the successful individuals are MCAs.

• They were declared winners at their tallying centers.

which IEBC has set as the National Tallying Centre
Bomas Centre which IEBC has set as the National Tallying Centre
Image: The-Star

The August 9 vote process is proving to have so many pleasant surprises for Kenyans.

From incumbents losing, to physically challenged firmly solidifying their place in society, Kenyan voters are online reacting to all this news.

Mpasho has compiled a list of Kenyans voted into various posts who are physically challenged. They are below;

1.  Andrew Omwende

The newly elected Sigomere ward MCA was born without legs. In the August 9 vote, Andrew floored 4 contenders to be announced the winner of the  Sigomere Ward in Siaya county.

This is Andrew Omwende's second time as an elected politician. The National Gender and Equality Commission (NGEC)@NGECKenya said at the time;

"CONGRATULATIONS Hon ANDREW OMWENDE on your election as the MEMBER OF COUNTY ASSEMBLY (MCA), Sigomere Ward, Siaya County."

Omwende told K24 that he doesn't wait for handouts, timely advice that has befitted him.

The MCA added that his journey has not been easy and he has tried to discourage pity from people

"Kwa life eyangu najaribu ku discourage hii mambo ya kupea, mtu anakupatia "He encoryaged those born with disabilitie to use opportunties "kua na agenda ukiwa na agenda wananchi watakupea nafasi. Lakini kama huna agenda wananchi hawata kuskiza."

His political mentor is  Tim Wanyonyi.

mca elect Andrew Omwende
andrew omwende mca elect Andrew Omwende

2. Aden Ibrahim

The United Disabled Persons of Kenya (the umbrella of organizations of persons with disabilities) congratulated Aden on his win saying, 

"Congratulations to Hon. Aden Ibrahim MCA (Member of County Assembly) elect for Batalu ward in Wajir North constituency. Your election spotlights the importance of equal and effective Participation in the promotion of inclusion Agenda #thedisabilityvote2022."

mca electaden ibrahim,
aden ibrahim mca electaden ibrahim,

3. Rose Museo

Rose is the only woman who was elected MCA in Kitui county and defeated 11 men who were competing with her. Again UDP(K) told Kenyans.

"CONGRATULATIONS Hon ROSE MUSEO,@KKedipa Member, on your election as the Makueni County Women Representative. This acts to amplify the voices of persons with Disabilities in the decision-making space. #thedisabilityvote2022."

4.  Tim Wanyonyi

The second time politician has been re-elected to continue with his good work. UPD(K) wrote,

"Congratulations Hon. Tim Wanyonyi, the Chairman of @KKedipa, for your re-election as Westlands Member of National Assembly (MP). This re-election serves to accelerate our concerted efforts toward realization of our collective vision of Disability Inclusion #thedisabilityvote2022."

kenya decides 2022
rose museo mca kenya decides 2022

5. Martin Wanyonyi 

The newly elected politician of Ford Kenya has become the first person with albinism to be elected through the ballot in Kenya

UPD(K) wrote,

"We congratulate Martin Wanyonyi, Webuye East Mp Elect for the win and all other aspirants with Disabilities who participated in the Electoral Process. This is clear evidence that with reasonable Accommodation we can participate on an equal basis as others #thedisabilityvote2022"

Wanyonyi while accepting his certificate added,

“This election is historic because it’s the first time that a person with albinism has been elected through the vote. I want to assure the people of Webuye East that I will deliver on my promises,” stated Wanyonyi.

WATCH: For the latest videos on entertainment stories

Check out the latest news here and you are welcome to join our super exclusive Mpasho Telegram group for all the latest and breaking news in entertainment. We would also like to hear from you, WhatsApp us on +254 736 944935.