How celebs are fairing in the 2022 elections

DNG has won the Kenyatta Golf Course Ward under the UDA party ticket


• Njambi, popularly known as Fyah Mummah, was vying as an independent candidate but conceded defeat.

• In the last elections two celebrities — Dagoretti South MP John Kiarie alias KJ and Starehe MP Charles 'Jaguar' Njagua — joined politics and won their parliamentary bids.

MC Jessy smiling
Image: Instagram

As Kenya enters day two of counting and tallying, popular and influential names have also featured greatly in the list of winners and losers.

Big names in the entertainment industry who had opted to test the murky waters of politics have not been left behind, some getting positive results, while others have been getting the experiences they might not have been ready for.

Most of them will pick lessons that they will have to live with for the rest of their lives.

It is said that in politics, a day is a very long time. Here is the list of some celebrities who have won and others who conceded defeat even before IEBC announced the results.

Media personality Davidson Ngibuini, popularly known as DNG, has won the Woodley, Kenyatta Golf Course Ward seat.

Vying under Deputy President William Ruto's UDA party, he beat the incumbent MCA Mwangi Njihia of the Jubilee Party.

Still in Woodley, one of the P-unit group members, Gabriel Kagundu, popularly known as Gabu, was seeking the same position with an Alliance National Congress (ANC). He conceded defeat after DNG won the seat.

Kenyan artist Kevin Kioko aka Bahati, who was vying on a Jubilee Party ticket, lost his bid to become the member of parliament for Mathare. He was seeking to succeed the incumbent Anthony Oluoch.

However, the tallying is still ongoing with Oluoch and UDA's Billian Ojiwa going neck and neck.

Former Kiss 100 radio presenter and comedian Felix Odiwour outshined the incumbent Nixon Korir to win the seat.

 Korir accepted defeat on Wednesday even before IEBC announced the official results.

"To the people of Lang'ata, I  sincerely thank you for according me an opportunity to be your Member of Parliament for the last 5 years," he said.

Popular radio presenter and reggae emcee Mary Njambi Koikai had set her eyes on the Dagoretti South parliamentary seat.

"I wish to congratulate the winner (yet to be announced) on their election and I wish them well in advancing the hopes of our constituents," she said.

Njambi, popularly known as Fyah Mummah, was vying as an independent candidate but conceded defeat.

Popular musician Eko Dydda has won the Mathare North Member of County Assembly seat.

Anita Sonia, a Kenyan environmental advocate, has also lost her bid to become Kajiado North MP.

" The answer is wait. Next time it may be yes. I take this chance to congratulate my opponent and good friend Onesmus Nguro Ngogoyo of UDA for being the MP-elect of our great constituency, Kajiado North," She said.

Also, comedian MC Jessy (Jasper Muthomi) has conceded defeat and extended a message of heartfelt congratulations to his opponent Shadrack Mwiti who took an early lead.

"I sincerely thank you so much for the time we have interacted during our campaign time. It has been a great journey. A journey of amazing political adventure. A journey of daring hearts. We will continue to engage as we look forward to Next time," he said.

In the last elections, two celebrities — Dagoretti South MP John Kiarie alias KJ and Starehe MP Charles 'Jaguar' Njagua — joined politics and won their parliamentary bids.

Kiarie became famous during the comedy show Redykyulass, a popular political satire in early 2000. Njagua is a celebrated musician with songs of different genres. 

WATCH: For the latest videos on entertainment stories

Check out the latest news here and you are welcome to join our super exclusive Mpasho Telegram group for all the latest and breaking news in entertainment. We would also like to hear from you, WhatsApp us on +254 736 944935.