• The politicians shared their conceding messages on their social media platforms.

• Conceding means accepting you have lost/will lose when the final results are finally read.

Martha Karua casting her vote
Martha Karua casting her vote
Image: Wangeci Wangondu

In every race there is always a winner and a looser.

We take a look at politicians who have conceded defeat in the just concluded August 9th elections.

Conceding means accepting you have lost/will lose when the final results are finally read.

Moses Kuria

Gatundu South MP Moses Kuria lost his bid in the Kiambu gubernatorial race.

In a statement on Facebook Tuesday night, Kuria conceded defeat adding that  he is heading back to the private sector after eight years of service as MP.

"I enjoyed every minute of my 8 years in elective politics. Back to the private sector. Happily," Kuria said.

The outspoken MP had previously said he would exit politics if he fails to clinch the Kiambu governor seat.

Naomi Shaban

Long-serving Taveta legislator Naomi Shaban has also conceded defeat in the race to secure a fifth term.

Naomi, in a Whatsapp group, told her supporters that preliminary results had indicated that she will not clinch back the seat.

Naomi who joined politics in 2002 is one of the Coast region's longest-serving legislators. She has served as an MP for 20 years after unseating former MP Basil Criticos.

She congratulated her competitor Bwire Okano of Wiper party.

"Good people, there is time for everything. Well done team Bwire," the Jubilee Deputy Party Leader said.

The veteran politicians said the time has come to move to other things. She lauded her supporters for electing her for four terms.

Nelson Havi

Havi conceded defeat earlier and congratulated incumbent MP Tim Wanyonyi in the Westlands MP race.

Do not waste your time trolling me, lawyer Nelson Havi has told Kenyans on social media.

Havi, who conceded defeat earlier and congratulated incumbent MP Tim Wanyonyi in the Westlands MP race, said he deserves to sleep.

Kanini Kega

Kega who has served for two terms hinted he had lost the parliamentary seat that he was seeking to defend.

"Opening a new chapter, when one door closes another one is opened. Heading to Bomas," he said.

Also, comedian MC Jessy (Jasper Muthomi) has conceded defeat and extended a message of heartfelt congratulations to his opponent Shadrack Mwiti who took an early lead.

"I sincerely thank you so much for the time we have interacted during our campaign time. It has been a great journey. A journey of amazing political adventure. A journey of daring hearts. We will continue to engage as we look forward to Next time," he said.

Joshua Kutuny

Outgoing Cherangany Member of Parliament Joshua Kutuny has conceded defeat and congratulated Democratic Action Party’s  Patrick Simiyu Barasa before IEBC announced the results.

The Chama Jubilee Party Deputy Secretary General stated that he had decided to support his opponent to realize development for the residents of the cosmopolitan constituency.

WATCH: For the latest videos on entertainment stories

Check out the latest news here and you are welcome to join our super exclusive Mpasho Telegram group for all the latest and breaking news in entertainment. We would also like to hear from you, WhatsApp us on +254 736 944935.