Olago has played an instrumental role in shaping the Kenyan rugby landscape. He joined the team back in 2008 while studying and his convenience was the training grounds near his residence.

KCB Bank RFC was formed in 1989 as a succession to the defunct Kenya Breweries RFC. A lot of improvement since he joined the team; for example in 2012, he managed to get 5 KCB players on the Kenyan Rugby national team. They included Curtis Lilako, Oliver Mangeni, Fabian Olando, Moses Amusala and Peter Mutai. KCB alongside Impala and Harlequins are the only teams that have won Kenya Cup 3 times in a row.

When quoted in interviews, he comes a cross as a deep believer on the aptitude of his team.