Zeynab Kagoya Wandati from NTV (Nation Media Group) won The FAO’s 2016-2017 A.H. Boerma Award. The award recognizes journalists who have successfully steered public attention towards food security topics.

zeynab wandati 1

The Award consists of an inscribed medal, a scroll describing the winner’s achievements and a cash prize of USD 10,000 which is approximately one million Kenya shillings.

Zeynab normally specializes in business journalism with a keen interest in agriculture and climate change.

She is also a board member of Media for Environment, Science, Health and Agriculture (MESHA), an association of science journalists and communicators in East Africa.

Wandati has been selected together with Mr. Keni Lesa, a journalist from the Samoa Observer, as joint winners.

An image of fellow Journalist Mr. Keni Lesa ;

keni lesa